Find It Here
Twitter update

Subscribe to Post Updates from Arkansas Row Crops


RSS AgNews
Quick Links
Agricultural Programs
Options After Crop Insurance Final Planting Date
Author: Scott Stiles, Extension Economist

For counties in northeast Arkansas, May 1 is the crop insurance “Final Planting Date” for corn. The map below indicates the “Final Planting Dates” for individual counties in Arkansas.

After the “Final Planting Date” there are a few options to consider:

  1. Late planting of the intended crop is an option after the “Final Plant Date”. There is a 1% per day coverage reduction after the “Final Planting Date” for the length of the “Late Planting Period” (15 days for corn in Arkansas).
  2. If the acres are deemed eligible*, the insured will receive 100% of the Prevented Planting (PP) indemnity if acres are left idle.
    • APH (actual production history yield) is not impacted by prevent plant; if there are planted acres within the field, a weighted average will determine APH.
  3. On a corn-intended field deemed PP, a 2nd crop may be planted after the Final Planting Date. Consult your insurance agent on how soon a 2nd crop can be planted after the Final Planting Date.
    • The 2nd crop must be insured
    • The insured is due 35% of the corn PP indemnity, 35% of the premium will be billed.
    • 60% of the approved yield within the producer’s database will determine APH.
    • If a 2nd crop is planted before the Late Planting Period, PP may not be declared for the original crop, with no premium or indemnity due.

The USDA Risk Management Agency has an updated fact sheet on Prevented Planting Insurance Provisions at this link:

* The above information serves as a general guide. Your crop insurance agent is the most qualified resource to help you determine Prevented Planting eligibility.

Note: May 10, 2020 is the deadline to file prevented planting acreage for corn at USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) offices.  This deadline applies to all counties except Benton, Clay, Craighead, Greene, Independence, Jackson, Lawrence, Mississippi, Poinsett, and Randolph Counties. The deadline for these ten (10) counties is May 16, 2020.

Save pagePDF pageEmail pagePrint page